USAV Class of 2020 Hall of Fame Members Announced

Eighteen volleyball legends have been selected to be inducted into USA Volleyball’s Class of 2020 Hall of Fame. USAV has hosted a “digital experience,” instead of a banquet originally scheduled to take place in Minneapolis, to present the 75th Annual USAV Hall of Fame members. The virtual celebration includes acceptance speeches and biographies of the selected Hall of Famers.

You may view the entire cyber celebration on the USAV website, here. Below are members who have impacted the girl’s junior volleyball community in some way, whether that is through coaching, mentoring, and/or refereeing. Following that is a list of all of the 18 Hall of Fame members of the 2020 class, a glimpse at a part of the history of our great sport.

Michael Blalock – Blalock has been a referee with USA and NCAA Volleyball and has been a member and four-year commissioner of the rating and evaluation team, as well as the supervisor of officials from 1997-2020.

Kathy Ets-Hokin – Ets-Hokin is a former volleyball player and high school coach and referee before she had children. She also volunteers with the Special Olympics. Her daughter Camryn plays at Miami Elite VBC and was a part of a group that Ets-Hokin organized to provide relief to the Florida Keys and the Florida Panhandle after Hurricanes Irma and Michael, respectively.

Michelle Goodall – Goodall has coached high school teams in Colorado and Iowa and formed Cedar Rapids Metro VBC and Cougar VBC, a feeder club at Cedar Rapids Kennedy HS, her alma mater and where she coached for 20 years. She worked with the Iowa Region for 11 years and was a team leader for the U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team that won the Rio Paralympic Games.

Donna Friesen Wigton – An active referee in the Southern and Rocky Mountain Regions, Frieson Wigton has missed just one USA Volleyball Open Nationals from 1983-2017 as a scorekeeper. She has also worked on the international level in the Olympics and FIVB events, among others.

Bethani Hincherick – Hincherick, a former player, has 20 years of experience as a coach with Illinois’ UNO VBC. She has coached 10 teams to the USAV Girls Junior National Championships with UNO. Currently, Hincherick is the director of youth programs and serves as the club’s tournament director.

Jon Lee – Lee was the commissioner for the Evergreen Region and helped to form the Puget Sound Region. He helped found the Pacific Northwest Qualifier in Spokane, Washington. This year he earned USAV’s highest honor for lifetime achievement, selected as the Harold T. Friermood “Frier” recipient.

Sam Nimpchaimanatham – An active coach with indoor and beach experience, Nimpchaimanatham has served as the head court manager for the AVCA Beach Championships, now the NCAA Beach Championships in Gulf Shores, Alabama. He has coached for High Performance programs and has been the Gulf Coast Region representative.

Chuck Nelson – Nelson is a retired USAV junior national referee from the Southern California, Pioneer, and Badger Regions.

Loren Paulozzi – Paulozzi has been a coach and the club director at Southwest VBC in the Ohio Valley Region, a club that has trained over 3,000 athletes since its inception. What began as a way to get his own daughters involved in volleyball, now his grown children Charlotte and Amy are coaches for Southwest.

Dr. Cecile Reynaud – Reynaud was the head coach at Florida State University for 26 seasons where her overall record with the Seminoles was 635-326. She has served on the USA Volleyball Board of Directors and is currently the Chair. She has coached teams within the U.S. National pipeline and published a book called The Volleyball Coaching Bible.

USAV Class of 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees:

Michael Blalock – Wilbur H. Peck Referee Emeritus Award
Joe Campbell – George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball
Kathy Ets-Hokin – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Parent
Donna Friesen Wigton – Nancy S. Sharpless Scorekeeper Emeritus Award
Michelle Goodall – George J. Fisher Leader in Volleyball
Bethani Hincherick – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Female Coach
Diana Hoffman – Flo Hyman All-Time Great Player – Pioneer
Tim Hovland – Thomas Haine All-Time Great Male Player
Jon Lee – Harold T. Friermood “Frier” Award
Holly McPeak – All-Time Great Beach Female Player
Chuck Nelson – Thomas Haine All-Time Great Male Player – Pioneer
John Nelson – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Clinician
Sam Nimpchaimanatham – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Male Coach
Loren Paulozzi – Junior Service Award – Outstanding Program Director
Dr. Cecile Reynaud – Bertha H. Lucas All-Time Great Coach – Pioneer
Danielle Scott – Flo Hyman All-Time Great Female Player
Brady Starkey – Donald S. Shondell All-Time Great Coach – Contemporary Division
Kent Steffes – All-Time Great Beach Male Player

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top